Facts & Figures

The V-Cableway secures the medium and long-term successful future of tourism throughout the entire Jungfrau Region as a top destination in Swiss tourism throughout the year. It strengthens the competitiveness of the Jungfraujoch as a globally renowned destination, and it helps the winter sports region reach the top position in international competition.

THE V-BAHN STARTS IN

000 D : 00 H : 00 M : 00 S
07.2018 Start of construction

At your destination up to 47 minutes faster.

With the new V-Cableway, you can get to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe or directly onto the ski slopes much faster.

Public transport connection New Before
Terminal Grindelwald - Jungfraujoch 45 min 1 h 28 min 43 min faster
Lauterbrunnen - Jungfraujoch 1 h 28 min 1 h 45 min 17 min faster
Interlaken - Jungfraujoch 1 h 30 min 2 h 17 min 47 min faster
Bern - Jungfraujoch 2 h 31 min 3 h 18 min 47 min faster
Bern - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 1 h 49 min 2 h 36 min 47 min faster
Zürich - Jungfraujoch 3 h 33 min 4 h 20 min 47 min faster
Zürich - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 2 h 51 min 3 h 38 min 47 min faster
Bern - Männlichen (GGM) 1 h 53 min 2 h 16 min 23 min faster
Jungfrau Map

Bern - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 2 h 36 min

1h 49min

Bern - Zermatt (village) 2 h 08 min

Bern - Gornergrat 2 h 59 min

Zürich - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 3 h 38 min

2h 51min

Zürich - Davos, Parsenn (ski slopes) 3 h 15 min

Zürich - Arosa, Tschuggenhütte (ski slopes) 3 h 02 min

How investment become benefits

CHF 470 million

Investments in the Jungfrau region

Source: Ecoplan study

Canton of Bern CHF 53 to 105 Million value creation 324 to 776 jobs
Grindelwald CHF 30 to 67 Million value creation 182 to 592 jobs

Benefits

  • State-of-the-art aerial gondolas Eiger Express and GGM
  • 47 minute reduction in journey time
  • Direct connection to public transport
  • Best terminal in the Alps with shops, food and ski depots
  • More comfort due to capacity increase and elimination of standing room
  • Increase in recognition and location attractiveness
  • Leading international position as top year-round destination
  • Why am I getting to the ski area and the Jungfraujoch much faster and more comfortably?

    Thanks to the direct connection of the V-Cableway to public transport, the travel time from all Swiss cities to the ski area and the Jungfraujoch has been shortened by 47 minutes.

    Arrival by public transport:

    • Berne - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 1 h 49 min
    • Berne - Jungfraujoch Top of Europe 2 h 31 min
    • Zurich - Eigergletscher (ski slopes) 2 h 51 min
    • Zurich - Jungfraujoch Top of Europe 3 h 33 min

    The direct connection of the V-Cableway to public transport and the increase in capacity of the new rolling stock on the Bernese Oberland Railway (valley railway on the feeder line from Interlaken Ost to Grindelwald) increase the attractiveness of the railway and ensure a shift in traffic from road to rail.

    With the realisation of the V-Cableway project, in particular with the commissioning of the "Eiger Express" tricable gondola, central junctions will be de-congested and long-term traffic and parking problems will be solved. This is ensured by a new parking garage and a constantly updated parking guidance system with real-time information. A customer information system on all railways enables targeted visitor guidance.

    The new Grindelwald Terminal stop massively increases the public transport passenger capacity. With the new cable cars and the increased capacity, queuing in the valley for transport to the ski resort will be a thing of the past. A single seat reservation guarantees the Jungfraujoch guests their seat when transferring to the Jungfrau Railway.

    Holiday guests in Grindelwald reach the Eiger Glacier station and the ski slopes in just 15 minutes. Thanks to the rapid return transport by the tricable gondola to the mountain, the beautiful valley slopes can be enjoyed repeatedly. The additional shuttle to the First Railway directly from the terminal makes changing ski resorts a quick and easy process.

    The V-Cableway project guarantees facilities of the latest standards with a high level of guest comfort. These include new rolling stock on the Bernese Oberland Railway, the Grindelwald Terminal with shopping, food and ski depots, as well as the tricable gondola Eiger Express (26 seats) and the 10-passenger aerial gondola on the Männlichen. There is also a car park with 1,000 spaces. Separate group accesses reduce congestion.

    A tailor-made operational adjustment of the Bernese Oberland Railway (BOB), Wengernalp Railway (WAB) and Jungfrau Railway (JB) to suit the demands and the latest technology is guaranteed.

  • How does Grindelwald and the region profit?

    The V-Cableway ensures the competitiveness of the Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe and thus the future of a beacon of tourism for the Jungfrau Region and all of Switzerland. Prospects are created for generations to come in the Jungfrau Region.

    Thanks to the new trains, Grindelwald will become significantly more attractive as a destination.

    The V-Cableway strengthens the competitiveness of the Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe and Grindelwald as a winter and summer destination. The year-round visitor volume increases the business opportunities in Grindelwald.

    The new terminal offers business spaces with direct access to the flow of customers. Around 50 jobs will be created with the shops there.

    The project increases guest attendance for day and holiday guests. Catering providers, businesses and the hotel industry will also benefit from this.

    With the creation of additional jobs, Grindelwald will be more attractive as a place of residence.

    More attractive thanks to reduced traffic congestion

    The V-Cableway will bring a reduction in individual motorized traffic, resulting in less traffic on the road. The significantly improved access to public transport via the new BOB “Grindelwald Terminal” station disproportionately increases the appeal of the railway. The shift to rail is the path of the future.

    The shorter travel times, the direct public transport connection, the new facilities, the new rolling stock and the terminal building with shops provide guests with more quality and comfort. The region thus remains competitive internationally in future.

  • What added value does the project create?

    The V-Cableway project has great economic significance for the Jungfrau Region and above all for Grindelwald. A significantly positive impact on employment and value creation in Grindelwald and in the canton of Bern is expected in the construction phase as well as during the operational phase.

    Grindelwald

    Between 182 and 592 jobs can be secured or created in Grindelwald with the project. The resulting value added is between 30 and 67 million Swiss francs.

    The municipality of Grindelwald receives additional tax revenues of CHF 1.7 to 2.5 million per year. Around CHF 1 million is allocated to the rest of the Jungfrau Region.

    Canton of Bern

    In the canton of Bern, between 342 and 776 new jobs will be created, and there will be 53 to 105 million Swiss francs of added value generated.

    The project generates total annual tax revenues of 11 to 14.6 million Swiss francs.

    Value added during the construction phase
    The project is generating a large number of contracts, especially for the regional construction industry. By the end of 2018, orders totalling CHF 100.5 million were already granted to companies from the Bernese Oberland. This corresponds to 95% of the order value at the end of 2018 (excluding Garaventa cable cars).

    By the end of 2018, a total of 36 companies/consortia received orders for the realisation of the V-Project. 26 of these were from the Bernese Oberland. At the end of the year, a total of 220 workers (planners & construction workers) were working on the project.

  • How do guests benefit?

    Day guests benefit from a significantly shorter journey to the ski area and the Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe. The 47 minutes gained bring the ski slopes much closer to Swiss cities.

    There is a parking garage with around 1,000 parking spaces with direct access to the terminal for those not travelling by public transport
    Thanks to the reduced travel time to the Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe, international sightseeing tourists have plenty of time to visit another Experience Mountain such as First – Top of Adventure or to take part in winter sports after the Jungfraujoch.

    At the Grindelwald railway station, guests can choose between boarding the WAB, the longest continuous cogwheel railway in the world, with attractive seats. Alternatively, they can travel via the BOB in just a few minutes to the Terminal Grindelwald stop, where they can directly board the new cable cars. The comfort of the ascent and descent has improved for the guests thanks to the decongestion of customer flows.

    If you want to take a break in the terminal, you can enjoy shopping in branded stores or buy dinner from a retailer. Of course, rental of winter sports equipment and clothing is also on site.

    Summer

    The popular hiking routes between Männlichen and Kleine Scheidegg or below the Eiger North Face are made much easier and faster with the railways. The starting point of the Eiger Trail can be reached in 15 minutes using the new Eiger Express tricable gondola without having to change trains.

    Kleine Scheidegg is relieved of people travelling to the Jungfraujoch and is therefore more attractive for excursion guests and hikers. It becomes the meeting place of the Alps.

    Winter

    From Grindelwald Terminal, the Eiger Glacier station and the ski slopes can be reached in just 15 minutes. Thanks to the rapid return transport by the tricable gondola to the mountain, the attractive valley runs can be used multiple times. The ski shuttle from the Grindelwald Terminal to the First Railway provides a direct bus connection between the two ski areas, making Grindelwald much more attractive as a ski holiday destination.

    Transport to the Kleine Scheidegg ski resort and to the Jungfraujoch can be guaranteed even in difficult weather conditions. This enables certain weather-related service interruptions to be alleviated with the WAB. The holiday guest is able to complete the scheduled ski day/excursion safely.

  • Why a tricable gondola?

    The tricable gondola system combines all the advantages of the aerial gondola and the funicular. Due to the double carrier cable, it can be run across great lengths with a small number of support towers while still being very stable in the wind. For the Eiger Express, only seven support towers have to be built over the entire length of 6,483 metres. This preserves the landscape and no forest paths are required.

    The tricable technology is the only ropeway system that harmoniously blends the desired transport needs with the demand for minimal intervention in nature. Although it is much more expensive to buy than an aerial tramway, the advantages in terms of nature and operation justify these higher costs.

Construction partners

The entire region profits from the 470 million V-Cableway project Since the start of construction, orders totalling CHF 100.5 million have already been granted to companies from the Bernese Oberland (as of end of 2018). This corresponds to 95% of the order value at the end of 2018 (excluding Garaventa cable cars).

So far, a total of 30 companies/working groups have been covered, 21 of which come from the region. Currently, about 250 external workers (planners and construction workers) are involved in the realisation of the once-in-a-generation project.

CHF Group 6 Created with Sketch.

Facts & Figures

Die V-Bahn sichert mittel- und langfristig die erfolgreiche touristische Zukunft der gesamten Jungfrau-Region als top Ganzjahres-Destination im Schweizer Tourismus. Sie stärkt die Konkurrenzfähigkeit des Jungfraujochs als weltweit bekanntes Ausflugsziel und verhilft der Region im Wintersport zu einer Spitzenposition im internationalen Wettbewerb.

DIE V-BAHN STARTET IN

000 D : 00 H : 00 M : 00 S
07.2018 Baubeginn

Bis zu 47 Minuten schneller am Ziel

Mit der neuen V-Bahn kommen Sie deutlich schneller aufs Jungfraujoch – Top of Europe oder direkt auf die Skipiste.

Verbindung öffentlicher Verkehr Neu Vorher
Terminal Grindelwald - Jungfraujoch 45 min 1 h 28 min 43 min schneller
Lauterbrunnen - Jungfraujoch 1 h 28 min 1 h 45 min 17 min schneller
Interlaken - Jungfraujoch 1 h 30 min 2 h 17 min 47 min schneller
Bern - Jungfraujoch 2 h 31 min 3 h 18 min 47 min schneller
Bern - Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 1 h 49 min 2 h 36 min 47 min schneller
Zürich - Jungfraujoch 3 h 33 min 4 h 20 min 47 min schneller
Zürich - Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 2 h 51 min 3 h 38 min 47 min schneller
Bern - Männlichen (GGM) 1 h 53 min 2 h 16 min 23 min schneller
Jungfrau Map

Bern - Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 2 h 36 min

1h 49min

Bern - Zermatt (Dorf) 2 h 08 min

Bern - Gornergrat 2 h 59 min

Zürich - Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 3 h 38 min

2h 51min

Zürich - Davos, Parsenn (Skipiste) 3 h 15 min

Zürich - Arosa, Tschuggenhütte (Skipiste) 3 h 02 min

Wie aus Investitionen Vorteile werden

CHF 470 Mio.

Investitionen in Jungfrau Region

Quelle: Studie Ecoplan

Kanton Bern CHF 53 bis 105 Mio. Wertschöpfung 324 bis 776 Arbeitsplätze
Grindelwald CHF 30 bis 67 Mio. Wertschöpfung 182 bis 592 Arbeitsplätze

Vorteile

  • Topmoderne Gondelbahnen Eiger Express und GGM
  • 47 Minuten Fahrtzeitverkürzung
  • Direkter Anschluss an öffentlichen Verkehr
  • Bester Terminal der Alpen mit Shops, Food und Skidepots
  • Mehr Komfort durch Kapazitätserhöhung und Eliminierung der Stehplätze
  • Steigerung der Bekanntheit und Standortattraktivität
  • Internationale Spitzenposition als Top-Ganzjahres-Destination
  • Warum komme ich deutlich schneller und bequemer ins Skigebiet und aufs Jungfraujoch?

    Dank des direkten Anschlusses der V-Bahn an den öffentlichen Verkehr wird die Anreisezeit ab allen Schweizer Städten ins Skigebiet sowie zum Jungfraujoch um 47 Minuten deutlich verkürzt.

    Anreise mit dem öffentlichen Verkehr:

    • Bern – Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 1 h 49 min
    • Bern – Jungfraujoch Top of Europe 2 h 31 min
    • Zürich – Eigergletscher (Skipiste) 2 h 51 min
    • Zürich – Jungfraujoch Top of Europe 3 h 33 min

    Der direkte Anschluss der V-Bahn an den öV und die Kapazitätserhöhung durch das neue Rollmaterial bei der Berner Oberland-Bahn (Talbahn auf der Zubringerstrecke von Interlaken Ost nach Grindelwald) erhöhen die Attraktivität der Bahn und sorgen für eine Verkehrsverlagerung von der Strasse auf die Schiene.

    Mit der Realisierung des Projekts V-Bahn, insbesondere mit der Inbetriebnahme der 3S-Bahn «Eiger Express» werden zentrale Knotenpunkte entflechtet und langjährige Verkehrs- und Parkplatzprobleme gelöst. Dafür sorgen ein neues Parkhaus sowie ein stets aktuelles Parkleitsystem mit Echtzeitinfo. Ein Kundeninformationssystem in allen Bahnen ermöglicht eine gezielte Besucherlenkung.

    Die neue Haltestelle Terminal Grindelwald erhöht massiv die Abnahmekapazität ab öV. Mit den neuen Seilbahnen und den erhöhten Kapazitäten setzt dem Anstehen im Tal für den Transport ins Skigebiet ein Ende. Eine Einzelplatzreservierung garantiert den Jungfraujoch-Gästen ihren Sitzplatz beim Umsteigen auf die Jungfraubahn.

    Feriengäste in Grindelwald erreichen die Station Eigergletscher und damit die Skipisten in nur 15 Minuten. Dank des raschen Rücktransports durch die 3S-Bahn auf den Berg dienen die attraktiven Talpisten als Beschäftigungsanlagen. Der zusätzliche Shuttle zur Firstbahn direkt ab Terminal macht einen Skigebietswechsel problemlos und in kurzer Zeit möglich.

    Das V-Projekt garantiert Anlagen von neustem Standard mit hohem Gästekomfort. Diese beinhalten neues Rollmaterial bei der Berner Oberland-Bahn, den Terminal Grindelwald mit Geschäften, Food und Skidepots sowie die 3S-Bahn Eiger Express (26 Sitzplätze) und die 10er-Gondelbahn auf den Männlichen. Hinzu kommt ein Parkhaus mit rund 1000 Parkplätzen. Separate Gruppenzugänge entflechten die Kundenströme.

    Eine massgeschneiderte Betriebs-Anpassung der Berner Oberland-Bahn (BOB), Wengernalbpbahn (WAB) und Jungfraubahn (JB) an die Nachfrage und den Stand der Technik sind gewährleistet.



  • Wie profitieren Grindelwald und die Region?

    Die V-Bahn sichert die Konkurrenzfähigkeit des Jungfraujochs und damit die Zukunft eines touristischen Leuchtturms der Jungfrau Region und der gesamten Schweiz. Es werden Perspektiven für die nächsten Generationen der gesamten Jungfrau Region geschaffen.

    Grindelwald wird dank seiner neuen Bahnen deutlich an Standortattraktivität gewinnen.

    Die V-Bahn stärkt die Konkurrenzfähigkeit des Jungfraujochs-Top of Europe sowie von Grindelwald als Winter- und Sommerdestination. Durch das ganzjährige Besucheraufkommen erhöhen sich die Geschäftsmöglichkeiten in Grindelwald.

    Der neue Terminal bietet Geschäftsflächen direkt am Kundenstrom. Dort entstehen mit den Geschäften rund 50 Arbeitsplätze.

    Das Projekt erhöht das Gästeaufkommen bei Tages- und Feriengästen. Davon profitieren auch die Gastrobetriebe, das Gewerbe und die Hotellerie.

    Mit der Schaffung von zusätzlichen Arbeitsplätzen wird Grindelwald als Wohnort attraktiver.

    Attraktiver dank Verkehrsentflechtung

    Die V-Bahn bringt einen Rückgang des motorisierten Individualverkehrs, was zu einem Minderverkehr auf der Strasse führt. Die deutlich verbesserte Anbindung an den öV durch die Station «Terminal Grindelwald» bei der BOB erhöht die Attraktivität der Schiene überproportional. Die Verlagerung auf die Schiene ist zukunftsweisend.

    Die kürzeren Reisezeiten, die direkte öV-Anbindung, die neuen Anlagen, das neue Rollmaterial und der Terminal mit Geschäften bieten den Gästen mehr Qualität und Komfort. Damit bleibt die Region auch in Zukunft international konkurrenzfähig.



  • Welche Wertschöpfung bringt das Projekt?

    Volkswirtschaftliche Auswirkungen

    Das Projekt V-Bahn hat für die Jungfrau Region und vor allem für Grindelwald eine grosse volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung. Sowohl in der Bauphase als auch in der Betriebsphase sind deutlich positive Auswirkungen auf Beschäftigung und Wertschöpfung in Grindelwald und im Kanton Bern zu erwarten.

    Grindelwald

    Mit dem Projekt können in Grindelwald zwischen 182 und 592 Arbeitsplätze gesichert oder geschaffen werden. Der Wertschöpfungseffekt bewegt sich zwischen 30 und 67 Mio. Franken.

    Die Gemeinde Grindelwald erhält jährlich zusätzliche Steuereinnahmen von CHF 1,7 bis 2,5 Mio. Rund CHF 1 Mio. entfallen an die restliche Jungfrau Region.

    Kanton Bern

    Im Kanton Bern werden zwischen 342 und 776 neue Arbeitsstellen geschaffen und eine Wertschöpfung von 53 bis 105 Mio. Franken generiert.

    Das Projekt generiert total jährlich Steuereinnahmen von 11 bis 14,6 Mio. Franken.

    Wertschöpfung während der Bauphase
    Das Projekt generiert eine hohe Summe an Aufträgen, insbesondere für die regionale Baubranche. Bis Ende 2018 wurden bereits Aufträge in der Gesamthöhe von 100,5 Millionen Franken an Unternehmen aus dem Berner Oberland vergeben. Dies entspricht 95% der Auftragssumme per Ende 2018 (ausgenommen Seilbahnen Garaventa).

    Bis Ende 2018 erhielten insgesamt 36 Unternehmen / Arbeitsgemeinschaften Aufträge für die Realisierung des V-Projekts. Davon waren 26 aus dem Berner Oberland. Für das Projekt standen per Ende Jahr insgesamt 220 Arbeiter (Planer & Bauarbeiter) im Einsatz.

  • Wie profitieren die Gäste?

    Tagesgäste profitieren von einer deutlich kürzeren Anreisezeit ins Skigebiet und aufs Jungfraujoch. Durch den Reisegewinn von 47 Minuten rückten die Skipisten wesentlich näher an die Schweizer Städte.

    Wer nicht mit dem öV anreist, dem steht ein Parkhaus mit rund 1000 Parkplätzen mit direktem Zugang zum Terminal zur Verfügung

    Dank der verkürzten Reisezeit aufs Jungfraujoch haben internationale Sightseeing Touristen genügend Zeit, um einen weiteren Erlebnisberg wie First – Top of Adventure zu besuchen oder im Winter nach dem Jungfraujoch noch Wintersport zu betreiben.

    Der Aufenthaltsgast hat am Bahnhof Grindelwald die Wahl zwischen dem Einstieg in die WAB, die längste durchgehende Zahnradbahn der Welt, mit attraktiven Sitzplätzen. Alternativ kann er mit der BOB in wenigen Minuten zur Haltestelle Terminal Grindelwald, wo er direkt in die neuen neuen Seilbahnen einsteigen kann. Der Komfort der Berg- und Talfahrt wird für die Gäste dank der Entflechtung der Kundenströme gesteigert.

    Wer im Terminal eine Pause einlegen will, kann sich beim Shoppen in Markengeschäften vergnügen oder beim Detailhändler noch kurz das Abendessen einkaufen. Selbstverständlich ist auch ein Verleih von Wintersportgeräten und Bekleidung vor Ort.

    Sommer

    Die beliebten Wanderrouten zwischen Männlichen und Kleine Scheidegg oder unterhalb der Eigernordwand werden mit den Bahnen deutlich bequemer und schneller erschlossen. Der Ausgangspunkt des Eiger Trails ist durch die neue 3S-Bahn Eiger Express ohne Umsteigen in 15 Minuten erreichbar.

    Die Kleine Scheidegg wird entlastet von Reisenden aufs Jungfraujoch und dadurch attraktiver für Ausflugsgäste und Wanderer. Sie wird zum Treffpunkt der Alpen.

    Winter

    Ab Grindelwald Terminal sind die Station Eigergletscher und damit die Skipisten in nur 15 Minuten erreichbar. Dank des raschen Rücktransports durch die 3S-Bahn auf den Berg können die attraktiven Talpisten mehrfach genutzt werden. Der Skishuttle ab Terminal Grindelwald zur Firstbahn bietet eine direkte Busverbindung zwischen den beiden Skigebieten, was Grindelwald als Skiferien-Destination deutlich attraktiver macht.

    Durch die 3S-Bahn kann der Transport ins Skigebiet Kleine Scheidegg und zum Jungfraujoch auch bei schwierigen Wetterverhältnissen gewährleistet werden. Damit können gewisse wetterbedingte Betriebsunterbrüche bei der WAB abgefangen werden. Der Feriengast kann den geplanten Skitag/Ausflug sicher durchführen.

  • Warum eine 3S-Bahn?

    Das 3S-Bahnsystem kombiniert alle Vorteile der Gondelbahn und der Pendelbahn. Durch die doppelte Tragseilführung können grosse Spannfelder mit einer geringen Anzahl Stützen äusserst windstabil überfahren werden. Beim Eiger Express müssen so über die gesamte Streckenlänge von 6.483 Metern lediglich 7 Stützen gebaut werden. Das Landschaftsbild bleibt erhalten und es sind keine Waldschneisen erforderlich.

    Die 3S-Technologie ist das einzige Seilbahnsystem, das die gewünschten Transportbedürfnisse mit der Anforderung an minimale Eingriffe in die Natur harmonisch miteinander verbindet. In der Anschaffung ist sie zwar deutlich teurer als eine Pendelbahn, die Vorteile hinsichtlich Natur und Betrieb rechtfertigen jedoch diese höheren Kosten.

Unsere Baupartner

Vom 470-Millionen-Projekt V-Bahn profitiert die ganze Region: Seit Baubeginn konnten bereits Aufträge in einer Gesamthöhe von 100,5 Millionen Franken an Unternehmen aus dem Berner Oberland vergeben werden. Dies entspricht 95% der Auftragssumme per Ende 2018 (ausgenommen Seilbahnen Garaventa).

Insgesamt wurden bisher 30 Unternehmen/Arbeitsgemeinschaften berücksichtigt, 21 davon stammen aus der Region. Aktuell sind rund 250 externe Mitarbeiter (Planer und Bauarbeiter) an der Realisierung des Generationenprojektes beteiligt.

Baupartner aus der Region:

Baupartner Kanton Bern / ganze Schweiz:

CHF Group 6 Created with Sketch.